Design displacement

Hello there,

I’m having big problems with Lightburn. Some of the designs are displaced when engraving, although they look fine in Lightburn. After the displacement the engrave goes back to the original place. I though it was maybe a connection problems with an axis but it happens in the exact same place if you repeat the job. Here is a picture with the problems showing:

I can’t attach a picture with the design on Lightburn because the number of images appears to be limited for new users.

If I ran the job on RDWorks everything works fine.

Thanks!
Regards.
Raul.

How are you connected to the controller? USB or Network? It’s possible you’re getting errors when sending to the machine.

I’m using USB but I’ve been using the same method with RDWorks for 3 years and I’ve never had a problem like this one.

There are two connection types: Serial/USB and Packet/USB, and some controllers prefer one over the other. If you go to the devices list and double click your controller, try the other connection type and see if it behaves better.

I just have one option for USB:

LIGHTBURN_DEVICES

I can’t see the Packet/USB option. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks.

What version of LightBurn are you using?

The latest. v0.9.04

Ahh - I only have the packet option on the PC, as the Mac drivers only allow having one or the other. You didn’t mention that you were on a Mac - you might need to update the FTDI driver.

https://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

OK, thanks! I’ll give a try. So Packet/USB is better than Serial/USB then? Thanks

Not better, just slightly different in the way it communicates. Most controllers are fine with Serial/USB, but once in a while I find Packet/USB works better with certain controllers. The opposite is also true - I’ve had Serial/USB work fine and Packet/USB fail on some controllers.