FABOOL Mini 3.5W and Lightburn

Greetings.
I’ve got a Fabool Mini 3.5 w from Smart DIY’s. The included software is tedious and not terribly Mac friendly. Will Light Burn work with this machine?

I am a moderately tech savvy user - but have no interest in taking a deep dive into coding or other programing. Looking for a efficient workflow as I use this machine for work purposes and time is money.
Thanks!

doesnt say much about the controller and you need to know the controller to be able to tell if it works with lightburn.

Oh good lord - it’s based on the LaserSaur :man_facepalming:
https://manual.smartdiys.cc/smart-laser-mini-open-source-new/

Check out the firmware download on that page - it would appear the controller is just an Arduino Mega with a shield but then when you did into the firmware it’s a modification of the LaserSaur firmware (which was originally meant to run on an Uno/ATMega328p

Oh god - and they even use a hacked up version of the lasersaur web-based control software: https://manual.smartdiys.cc/smart-laser-mini-use-softwera-new/
No, just no…

Anyways - I used to have a LaserSaur and I am intimately familiar with the firmware and control software as I’ve hacked on it a lot.

The problem you are likely going to run into here is that while the firmware is based on grbl it’s REALLY old grbl (0.8 or 0.9 I think) and at some point they removed all gcode use and switched to a binary protocol.

Now, while the FABOOL firmware says it’s based on LaserSaur v14 which should be binary I don’t think it actually is because it looks like the gcode parser is intact.

What I would do is just try it with a LightBurn trial - connect using the GRBL M3 profile (DO NOT use the normal GRBL profile) and then go to the console and see if it connects. If it does, try issuing a couple commands like $$ or ? (config print and status print, respectively).