How can I engrave an outline without fill?

Hi guys, I am very new to Lightburn. I am able to create my design, but when I select my areas to cut and engrave the only option I seem to get is fill for engraving. This just ‘fills’ in any letter or frame I create, rather than engrave the outline instead. Any help would be gladly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Dave

Can you post the file you are working on, also are you using a seperate layer for cutting and one for fill ? you can change them by selecting the colour layers along the bottom.

Change the layer to ‘Line’ mode to have the laser follow the lines given, instead of filling between them.

Thank you - I use line to cut, so I take it I need to reduce the settings to engrave rather than cut (and the speed)? For example 3mm Birch. I have a laserscript 6840 and it advises on settings sheet (Engrave and Cutting), for this says 'For cut, use Line and Engrave use Fill. I think the sheet has confused me a little to be honest.

The only difference between cutting and engraving a line is the power & speed used. Typically for cutting you run slow with high power, and for marking (also called engraving or scoring) you use more speed and lower power.

Hi Clive, thanks. I have used the colour codes but my confusion is the ‘Line/Fill’ as the machine I am using comes with a settings sheet that I think I have been ill-advised of? I just want to know I can use line to engrave and cut but now I am unsure of settings to engrave (3mm Birch) - So, for the speed and power. Thanks mate.

Thank you - can you offer a rough recommendation for speed/power for 3mm birch at all. Just gives me an indication to play around with.

Cheers, Dave

You haven’t mentioned the wattage of your machine, so this is a guess:

Try 15 to 20% Max Power, and set Min Power to just above whatever your laser fires at. If you have a high-power laser (100w or higher) it’ll be tricky to avoid charring in the corners.