Is there a way to laser a specific area of the work space in Lightburn?

Im fairly new to lightburn and running a Orthur 400x300. Im using reclaimed wood for my signage. Im having issues with the wood charing and burning in some areas significantly more than other areas. Im thinking the reason for this is because of contaminates that have soaked into the wood like oils and fuels since im using pallet wood. Its definitly not because of density of the grains. Its that far off…
So the question is is there a way to select a section or area of my work space and have the laser just go over that one specific area without having to do the entire work area over again? Because if i can just laser over the effected area with a lighter beam and blend it in that would save a TON of hours and time on fixing a piece. A typical cross hatched burn for my type of work is about a hour long. Thanks! Love the program!

There isn’t a way to do what you’re asking, at least, not easily. If your design is vector shapes, you could draw a border around the area to engrave and use ‘Boolean Intersection’ to keep only the part of your design that covers that area. If your design is an image, there is no way to do this at the moment.

1 Like

Ill try that and see how it works. thank you!

I have a technique for doing this on my Ruida controlled machine, but I cannot say if this will also work the same with a GRBL controller.

Draw a square around your project. Set this to a layer of its own. Set this layer to NOT Output:

Now imagine these red circles represent your project:

If you are the type who like to place your laser head at the starting point of the job:

When you’re ready to run the project for the first time, select all of your vectors (including the framed square) and choose Cut Selected Graphics ; Use Selection Origin; Start From Current Position.