Just signing in for the first time

Greeting to all I just bought a laser [40W Laser Engraver CNC Desktop Engraving Cutting Machine ATOMSTACK A5 Pro I should receive it in a few days. Anyone can tell me if the lightburn would be good for this. Also need to know if it can be downloaded or what do I have to do? Yes I am brand new to all this so any help would be appreciated.
Merry Christmas & A Wonderful New Year
Thank you
Star

Hello Donna, and welcome aboard…

You will find that lightburn is the easiest and the most powerful software you can get hold of.

Good luck, take care

:smiley_cat:

I actually used it to generate gcode to ‘level’ the scrap bed on my little cnc. But @anon88048707 is probably correct, it’s really designed for lasers or 2D type work.

My first laser didn’t have a focus, so I used the Z axis in Lightburn to adjust focus.

Good luck

:smiley_cat:

okay, I am very new to this so I don’t know what spindles are :face_with_raised_eyebrow: this is what I bought… [40W Laser Engraver CNC Desktop Engraving Cutting Machine ATOMSTACK A5 Pro US. What I would like to use if for is cutting or at least cutting leather and laser designs on the leather. I might use it to cut little business cards Not sure what it can do anyway would like to use it in my business.

@Star Is this the laser that you have?

If so, I don’t think this supports the rotary machining tool that @anon88048707 is referring to. The use of “CNC Desktop” in this case feels a little misleading because that term is generally reserved for multi-purpose machines that allow swapping in of different tools into the tool holder, a laser head and router being common options.