Laser cut issues

So I’m new to using laser cutters, I bought an orionmotortech 50w co2 laser off eBay and started using it last week. I noticed the laser doesn’t seem to be cutting solid lines, instead it looks dotted. Any suggestions? I know the perforated setting is not on. image

Can you post a screen shot of the cut settings used? That doesn’t look like a setting issue - all the perforation styles in LightBurn would produce even spacing, and these are varying with the speed of the laser head - they get closer together at the corners. To me that suggests an issue with your power supply, but there is one setting (PWM freq override) that could do this, so I’d like to double check.

I assume these are the settings. image

Yes, but I don’t see anything strange there. Turn off ‘Cut through mode’, because you aren’t actually using it (the delay and power settings would need non-zero values in them), but it’s incredibly unlikely that would be it.

My best suggestion would be to install RDWorks and run a test of a simple square on both programs, using the same settings. If they come out the same, the problem is the hardware, likely the power supply for the tube, or possibly the configuration, but I’ll say this is the first I’ve ever seen this.

1 Like

I ran a test with RDworks and lightburn and got the same exact thing on both. Same settings feeds and power etc. I guess I’ll test the power supply to see what is going on there.

So I test the power supply and it seems to be functioning as it should. I ran it with the test button and it’s firing. Any suggestions about the configuration?

Go to Edit > Machine Settings and save the file to disk. Email that to support at lightburnsoftware dot com with a link to this thread and I can have a look.

You won’t be able to test the PSU firing operation unless you have an oscilloscope.