Laser Mode turns down laser

Alright. This is my first post. Let me preface this by saying that I do enjoy lightburn. I’m two weeks into my free trial.

I bought a cheap Chinese 30x40cm 5.5w “DIY” laser on amazon in Germany. It’s running on an Arduino nano with Grbl 1.1f.

I am by no means a professional and my experience with cnc is on a “fan” level at best. I have an MBA and an MA if that tells you anything. Not exactly an engineer. I know my limits.

So, here’s the issue I’m observing:

If I do not put Grbl in laser mode, the laser cuts fine at various power levels.

If I do put it in laser mode, it reaches flashlight brightness at best.

If I do not put it in laser mode, it will burn travel moves.

If i do, i can see the laser turn off during travel.

Clearly, the power of non laser mode with the non-illumination of travel moves would be the desirable outcome.

My settings are otherwise exactly as described in the tutorial videos and discussion board responses I’ve browsed.

My s level matches the grbl value on the machine. I tried setting it anywhere from 255 to 10k on both lightburn and through console on the machine.
Off topic:
I even managed to adjust the steps per mm to the point where the machine matches what I tell it to do in lightburn. I’ll admit the math was easy on that, but success is success. So I think I’m making progress here. This just has me stumped.

I hope it’s an easy fix. I wouldn’t mind feeling stupid even.

Larry

$$

$0=10

$1=25

$2=0

$3=6

$4=0

$5=0

$6=0

$10=1

$11=0.010

$12=0.002

$13=0

$20=0

$21=0

$22=0

$23=0

$24=25.000

$25=500.000

$26=250

$27=1.000

$30=1000

$31=0

$32=1

$100=160.000

$101=160.000

$102=80.000

$110=800.000

$111=800.000

$112=800.000

$120=50.000

$121=50.000

$122=50.000

$130=200.000

$131=200.000

$132=200.000