Laser Settings 3000MW cnc blue

Machine: 3000 MW Blue CNC laser Engraver
Advanced CNC 2-Axis Control Board
Firmware standard 0.9j
Computer: Macbook Air, O/S 11.2.9
USB connect
Lightburn software seems to be functioning as it should. After watching all the tutorials, I still need direction (settings) on how to turn the laser on. I am an absolute novice and find it difficult to decipher terminology. Thank you.

It is ok, we all start learning these new terms at some point, you are fine. I do see that you are using a very old and non-laser supporting firmware. This will make the process more challenging that it needs to be. I would look into flashing, or upgrading, the firmware used to drive this setup.

We provide documentation to help you get this DIY system going: Common GRBL/GCode Setups - LightBurn Software Documentation

The last paragraph is what I was mentioning.

Grbl Flavors

Grbl firmware was originally designed for CNC machines and 3D printers, with laser support added more recently. It is highly configurable, and this is both a blessing and a curse. The “standard” way a CNC machine is configured is somewhat different from the way laser machines often are. Luckily this is easy to change, and easy to switch from one to the other.

The more recent versions of Grbl (1.1f and up) support two things that are incredibly useful for lasers. The first is Laser Mode, enabled by setting $32=1 in the firmware settings. Laser mode eliminates the pauses that happen when changing power output, because Grbl knows it’s controlling a laser which reacts instantly, instead of waiting for a spindle to change RPM.