Laser turns on as soon as i connect to software and wont turn off

i dont know if this has been asked or not but when i connect to lightburn my laser comes on right away at full power and wont turn off unless i press the button on my board or unplug it. please help me fix this as i am new to this. bought the unit from a thift store

1 Like

That is not a software issue - LightBurn doesn’t issue any commands to the board (other than the optional homing command) until you tell it to. If the machine is lighting up when connected, either the firmware is incorrect for the board, or there’s a wiring issue.

1 Like

my board is an eleksmaker L1 is that a board that works with LightBurn or am i stuck using benbox then. I know when i flash the firmware from the Benbox i dont have any of the problems. I just get the issues when i flash the GRBL firmware so that i can use lightburn

There are some versions of GRBL that use different connection pins to fire the laser (old ones, like 0.8 or 0.9, I think, but I don’t know nearly as much about them). It’s possible that is the problem.

1 Like

ok so i will have to look for them then. thank you for letting me know about that. i was looking a getting a new board what would you recommend to replace the one i have

your issue is not lightburn or even grbl related but a design flaw in the laser module. You should install a 4.7k between pwm and ground (pulldown).

I install mine at the laser module itself. The blue anodized Eleksmaker module has proved to be robust. 2.5W seems to be the sweet spot for good engravings, enough power while 5W has a larger spot size.

If I show a picture of my board and laser can you tell me where to do this at. I’m new to all this and want to learn