Latest update options

I use Mac and Windows. I updated the Mac which asked if I wanted to replace the current version. I chose not to and now I have access to both versions. :ok_hand:
When I tried to update the Windows PC I was advised that I needed to uninstall the old version which would “remove associated info”. This had me worried so I aborted. Why can’t I have the choice of both versions on the Windows PC?