Lightburn and Ruida

I have a Chines 70Wat laser running on Lightburn. Can I bypass the CO2 laser and fit a BL10WF 10/80Watt blue laser head. The BL10 has a PWM input.

I’ll assume a Ruida controller?

Just get it mounted correctly and set the Ruida tube type to RF mode with no pre-ignition.

Ensure, once mounted, it is within it’s focal distance to the table.

:smile_cat:

Yes it’s a Ruida controller, thanks for the reply.
Only 3 connections to make, Pos+, -Ve and PWM How id you connect these into the Ruida… And did you find the 80Watt laser any good.
Thanks

George

With wires…?

Not sure what you mean? It wires up just like an RF laser is wired up. Other than a common ground, only pwm from the controller and power for the module.

Is your supply capable of supplying what you need?

thanks Jack,

If you’re confused, please speak up…

Speak up! well here goes Jack, I have been running a 70watt Chinese laser with Lightburn for 3 or 4 years now and quite honestly I have been happy with save for the following reason. It’s a pig to line up the mirrors and get a cut that’s perfectly vertical through the material. I have managed to cut through 10mm acrylic in a single pass. Then the problems arise when I bought a 10w/80 blue laser, maker unknown. I heard all sorts of promises of the blue laser managing to cut materials up to 40mm or so thick. Well i Thought with the lack of mirrors then the cut should be Vertical through the material. So with that in mind I purchased my D-Bl10/80 without giving it due consideration. Firstly, will it perform as well as my Co2 70W laser?. Will the gantry be able to run faster than that of the CO2?. And maybe a whole host of other questions. for instance, is there a ready made hardware kit to retrofit this onto my existing gantry?. Is there a set distance from the material surface to achieve focus. And finally what am I to gain by fitting the blue laser. Am am now aware how to connect this up to my Rueda controller and make the relevant cha