Lightburn freezes 1/2 way through project

Hey guys, wondering if others are having this issue. I have been using lightburn for about two years now, but recently the system just freezes 1/2 way through a project. I have replaced the cable, but I still get the same issue. It literally says the laser is ‘busy’ and will stay that way. The counter for the project time keeps running. In the end the only way I can stop ot is shut down the program and restart. But then it happens again. Even if I disconnect the laser it still says busy and if I shut down the program a box comes up saying ‘You are currently streaming to your devce, Are you sure you want to close’? I will say, not tech savvy at all, but I have never had this problem until recently. I upgraded the software, went back to the older version I was using and the same issue has occured. To the brains trust, any advice to sort this would be appreciated. I am using an old macbook air (about 8 years old). Thank you all!

This is typically indicative of a lost connection. So then the issue is identifying what could be causing the lost connection.

Things to consider:

1. Have you introduced any other machinery or hardware anywhere around the laser? Perhaps a device that comes on after the laser has started. Anything that could introduce electrical noise. Even a fan or furnace coming on while the laser is running could cause this. Try isolating the laser power from other devices.
  2. Has any of the software on your computer recently changed?
  3. Has the weather changed appreciably to potentially cause a higher chance of static discharge? If static is indeed the issue then this can typically be remedied by bonding and grounding the unit.
  4. Try a different USB port if available. Does your Macbook Air have USB-A ports or are you using some sort of dongle?
  5. If you’re using a USB hub have you recently added something to it or changed the port used? If so, try eliminating the hub entirely.
1 Like