Lines are shifted to the left vs fills

I’m using an OmTech 55W laser - brand new so just learning it’s setup.

I’m having problems with lines and fills not seeming to line up properly, despite them being perfectly centered in the software. In the example pictures, you can see how the cut out circles seems shifted to the left and slightly upward.

I made a test file and it shows similar.

In case it helps, here are my machine settings:

Any suggestions as to why and how to fix this?

If it helps I attached the test file and the machine settings file.

Machine settings - factory.55W.lbset
Fill line test.lbrn (82.0 KB)
(12.7 KB)

Did you check the beam alignment?

It seems all of the mirrors are aligned with the laser quite close to center, even at the close and far gantry positions for mirrors 2 and 3. Ramp test also showed the focal distance to be identical to the plastic tool provided (18 mm).

I’m totally new to a CO2 laser (so I’m asking to learn, not to challenge): am I wrong to think that even if the mirrors were slightly off, wouldn’t the fill and line functions still be similarly shifted (ie they’d still be in relative alignment with each other)? Or is a fill and line function a different mechanical function that can show this problem?

Here is something to try, the description is exactly the problem you described, but before you do save your default laser settings. You do this by going to edit>machine settings>save …and label it default laser settings. Hit ok. If you’ve already done that then proceed.

Next, go back to edit > Machine Settings, look in the X & Y axis settings section at the bottom, and look for the value of ‘PWM Rising Edge Valid’ on the X axis.
Change that - if’s it’s checked, un-check it, or vice versa. Then, copy the new setting over to the Y axis as well.

In the Lightburn document linked below, look for “fixing skewed engraving”