New user with hardware and/or software issues

Hello group, I’m a new laser user and I’m having problems. I posted my issue in a few laser FB groups but haven’t found a solution yet. I went ahead and tried something quite simple today but it isn’t working out for me. See below my original issue and I’ll post pictures of today’s trial and error. Thank you in advance for any help I can get.

Hi everyone, I am new to lasers and Lightburn. Today was my first day experimenting with engraving (wood), and the biggest issue for me right now is my origin keeps moving. I will click the origin button to know where to set my wood, and it will go to the same location maybe 5 times in a row, then suddenly it will choose somewhere else as the origin. Sometimes it has been in the bottom left corner (and that’s what I set it as in the software), but sometimes it will end up somewhere else along the left hand side. I noticed a “set origin” in the software, so I brought the laser down the the bottom left corner and set it, but it still chose to go somewhere else when I clicked go to origin. Any thoughts as to what’s happening? I’m guessing that it has chosen between about 3 different places as origin today during about 15 jobs.

My controller is a cohesion 3D Smoothie.