Newbie here with lots of questions

So Im brand new to the laser world.
Just installed the JTech 7 watt on my X Carve with the X controller.
Downloaded Lightburn and Im pretty much completely lost.

1. Why can I not see the full screen.
  2. I have everything plugged in and turned on but the software says its still waiting for a connection

Are we not allowed to post screen shots here?
I’m sure it would help in understanding my situation.

As a new user, you should be able to paste or upload one image per post.

1. What do you mean you can’t see the full screen? Is the window not filling your monitor? You can pan around with the space bar or middle mouse button, if that’s what you mean. Zoom with the mouse wheel.

2. Did you add your device through the devices menu? You can reset the connection by right clicking the Devices button too, btw.

Thank you for the response.
I followed the directions (I think) when I downloaded the software
Sorry I just now saw the upload button.
Its been a very frustrating couple of days.
This is my screen shot.

Yeah, being super new, I’d recommend following the suggestion and set your machine up using the M3 device. Your other option would be to install a newer firmware version on your controller, such as 1.1f (You’re running Grbl 1.0c). Someone here might be able to point you in that direction, but I don’t personally have any experience in that area.

If you are using a very small display (like 1024 x 768 or lower) you’ll need to rearrange the windows along the right side to stack/tab them all on top of each other, or you can hide your Windows bar along the bottom to give the software a bit more room.

Having said that, it does appear that your controller is being found and connecting - are you having other issues?

1 Like

Sorry it took so long to get back.
I’ve been so frustrated that I decided to get on the John Deere and clean up the yard today here in sunny (70° Ohio)
I always use my laptop 17"