Newbie Question

I’m sure this is and incredibly elementary question, but here goes anyway. I have been using a stock K40 for a couple of years now. That includes Corel Draw (with Corel Laser). I’ve just recently seen the light and upgraded everything…tube, lens, power supply, controller board (Mini Gerbil), computer, and of course, the software (LightBurn).

In the Corel Laser world, I would control speed in the software, but power was controlled manually using the potentiometer/ammeter on the machine. Now, in LightBurn, I understand that I set the power in the software…which is great.

Here is my question - since LightBurn is controlling power, do I just keep the power potentiometer on the laser turned all the way up all of the time? In the past, I’ve never allowed my ammeter to go above 15mA, but since it’s controlled in the software, should I just not worry about that anymore? How do I handle the hardware bits relative to the new software? I hope that makes sense. TIA.

****Edit - or, is the software bypassing that potentiometer all together??

Brian

On most boards, the pot controls the max power that will get sent to the laser, and LightBurn is choosing a percent of that. In nearly all cases it’s best to set it to 15ma (or whatever you choose) and let the software take it from there.

The only exception is grayscale photos, where dialing down the max and using 0 to 100% in the software will give slightly better shading. PWM has a range of values. Often 8 bit on lower hardware, some are 10 bit, and as high as 14 but on DSPs.