OMG! Another Newbie Question About Origin Alignment

I know, I know, I’m just sarcastic that way.

Anyway, I have an ignorant question. I am wondering why most, if not all, of these laser designs use front left as the home position. It just doesn’t make sense to me.

I have read lots and lots of posts, here and elsewhere, and I see a lot of folks talking about lower left, but then some go to upper right, and then tries to drive beyond here or there when the project is sent. I get that these are setup errors that can be corrected.

However, as an engineer, I understand the coordinate system, but I’m not sure why laser CNC designers are using lower left. If it were up to me, I’d use upper center. This is because I center my projects on the bed and this would be out of the way when working on the bed, and then the shortest distance when I send the project.

I’m just curious why one would put the mechanicals right in the way of where you’re trying to work, then you accidentally bump it, and have to do another full alignment before you can proceed, or at least you should do an alignment.

Can someone enlighten me?

I have two lasermachines, one with home and the other without home limit switches. I know what you are saying and I persomally have got in the habbit of moving the laser head out of my way with the move buttonts i Lightburn. Once I’m ready to start an engrave I hit Home or return to origin and then press start. That way the laser will return to you strting position before starting an etching job. Works for me.

Good suggestion, it’s a pain, but can mean the difference between a good job and wasted material.

Having switched to LB, I saw that there are some macros. I haven’t explored them, but I’m thinking that may also offer an alternative. Combined with setting a ‘move to finish position’, could be an acceptable alternative.