Preview & Job Monitoring - Co2 laser

Hi, I’m new to LB. installed it last night for testing my soon to be upgraded K40D with Smoothieboard. this was the fastest successful bench test ever. launch LB, connect to smoothie, hit start. works like a charm.

Few quick questions if i may:

1. If possible, How can i sync Preview screen with actual running job? or at least see the laser head location during a running job?

2. Is it possible to configure LB to command Smoothie to turn on an additional onboard FET to be on whenever laser is on, regardless of the power? the FET should be like: above 1% = ON, below 1%= OFF.

Thx.

1. You can look at the laser. Sorry this sounds cheeky, but it’s the correct answer. You should absolutely not leave a laser unsupervised, as they make fire as part of their normal operation, and I’ve seen many, many pictures of burned machines with captions like “I had to pee”. I very strongly resist the addition of features that are solely for remote monitoring.

2. Not at this time, no - This is the first such request I’ve ever gotten. You might be able to do this within Smoothieware’s configuration somehow, but I can’t say for sure. What would this be used for?

Hi Oz, Thx for replying.
I do not leave my laser unattended. my LB is just beside the cutter and I have no intention to leave the room while laser is doing its thing. this brings me to my second question which emphasizes my wish for more safety features. it happened that my laser was on when parked at the home location and since there was a black media to cut on bed i did not see it was on. it drilled a hole and there was no clear sign it was on. This made me promise to myself to mount a red led on top of the laser head or around the bed to make it absolutely clear the laser is on even at 1% & or less power - only when laser is completely off this led should turn off. i hope you will find this important enough to add this feature to LB.

Cheers.