Quality not as good as before

Hi everyone,

I’m quite new with Lightburn, having acquired and installed a CD3 board recently.
I own a 6040 chinese laser machine who seems to work correctly hardware related.
Before, I had a M2 Nano board which, all things considered, worked well for my needs except for the awful software.

Now, I’m trying to continue to engrave drawings with the same settings as before but I definitely don’t have the same result:

BELOW:
Old M2 nanoboard with Corel Laser
400mm/s @ 20% laser power (80W)

TOP:
C3D board with Lightburn
250mm/s @ 35% laser power, 254dpi
Settings: I import PNG transparent file first converted to RGB then grayscale at 300dpi

As you can see, the result is uneven, fuzzy. I know it’s not much but I can see the difference.
I only use lineart, black&white file.

Also, I tried to activate Smoothie clustering (because I guessed I had the last firmware on my CD3 board) and here is the below:

Do you know what might be the issue, how to improve the result, get cleaner and even lines ?

Thank you very much for your help

This is 100mm/s at 20%. Yes, the laser power is too high yet perfect even result… but way too slow !

Try threshold, not grayscale - this image is very simple, and doesn’t require shading. You’ll get much higher speed without shading. By using grayscale mode, when the software stretches or resizes the image, it will produce some shaded pixels, and those are being translated to extra commands. The stock Nano board only did threshold or dither, so you aren’t comparing identical operations here.

When you’re ready to do images that do require shading, look at the cluster firmware on C3D’s site:

Hi there!

Thank you for your answer.
I installed the last firmware because I wasn’t sure that the board got the latest firmware when I got it last week.
And it’s way better but there is still a few issues.

I didn’t say it but I already use threshold to engrave. The file I import are pure black and white.