Shape Properties Power setting not working in Mac version

Greetings,
Newbie here. I have a Redsail X900 with a Ruida controller and have been using the Windows version. I created a test grid like in the tutorial using the Shape Properties to control the power to save layer use. When I created the file in Windows, the Preview shows a grayscale pattern as one would expect and it did exactly that on the test material. I prefer to use my Mac and therefore decided to try that version and it didn’t work.

I did two tests. First I just used the .lbn file I created in Windows and opened it in the Mac version. The Preview just showed a solid black rectangle, no grayscale and it burned right thru my test material. Second I tried creating the file from scratch in the Mac version and I got the same thing.

Any ideas?

• Are both computers running the same version of the software?
  • Are both computers connected to the machine in the same way?
  • Do you have “Shade according to power” enabled on the Mac preview screen?

The code that generates and sends the data to the controller is the same on both versions, and I did the initial power scale testing with my MacBook, so I’ve used that feature on the Mac before - there should be no difference.