SKR v1.3 with tmc2208

Hi everyone,

Stupid new here, seriously! I have a bit of knowledge with 3D printers and using gcode and Marlin. But absolutely nothing about smoothiware or similar.

I have a K40 that I bought new, i swear it was built using old used damaged parts. Paid over $600 and received back $500 because of damaged or broken parts on arrival. I’ve been using the laser happily now for a couple of months and all of a sudden the laser head just parks itself in the home position while in the middle of a job, or it’ll just slow the speed from 200mm/s down to say 5mm/s and it literally just cuts through the acrylic. I originally thought it was my USB cable, I swapped that out for a new one. Then swapped my laptop for my desktop, same results!

My last ditch effort was to add 2 fans to the enclosure in hopes it was the M2 board overheating……. No ideas at all. I have a couple of spare SKR v1.3 boards and tmc2208s kicking around as spares for my 3D printers.

I’ve read quite a bit on using the SKR boards but I get all confused. Looking for some help if possible? I’m a visual learner as I have a brain injury from my Military time. I’ve watched so many great videos on programming the SKR boards for 3D printing, I can’t for the life of me find the same for the lasers. Does anyone happen to know of one, or some images, schematics, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! I’d go buy the cohesion board; however, on a disability Military pension, well, it doesn’t work so well while trying to live.

Thanks

Hello Dan.
Have you thoroughly read these very informative threads on this subject?
https://forum.lightburnsoftware.com/search?q=squid%201.3%20SKR
It took many weeks to grow these and there is a lot of information for anyone looking for going the cheaper way which works great but as you already know: time is money.