Sudden Laser issues after power outage :(

Hi all!

I have a 90w co2 laser using the Ruida RDC6445G and lightburn software. I have been using if daily for over 2 years with no major issues - until yesterday. No sure if its a coincidence all the below issues started after a power outage at the property (but the machine was not stitched on and switched off at the main power socket).

Main issues

1. We no longer have any connectivity between the computer and the laser cutter. Will not located the laser by any means. tired/tested with other cables and usb ports on known working computers etc.

2. The laser head seems to move extremely slow in x/y up/down manual control.

What i have tested so far;

• Diagnostics mode on the main ruida display - shows no faults.
  • The main board shows 2 led lights. #15 - solid red (+5v) & #14 - flashing red (run - which i believe is normal?)
  • Manually tested the laser from “test” switch on the power unit at the back - worked.
  • Everything else seems to be working fine (laser head control motors, fan, water etc)

Im not sure but it seems to be a power issue? or the ruida boards faulty? but hopefully someone may know more than my limited knowledge. appreciate any help or advice! :slight_smile: thank you

Welcome aboard, hope we can get you going again…

If it wasn’t plugged in and the supply was disconnected when the power failure occurred, I highly doubt there’s a likely or probable cause of any electronics failure from that power failure.

Does the Ruida complete a boot sequence and home properly?

You didn’t mention if it’s usb or Ethernet. Whatever you’re using, you should be able to see it’s presence with the device manager on your machine. If your OS on your pc can’t see it, neither can Lightburn.

If it’s usb, it would sound more like a driver… Ethernet doesn’t have these issues…

Few of today’s types of electronics just fail while operating, you usually find out they failed when you power it up the next time…