Suggestion for hours counter

Hello, just looking to see if there is a way to add an hour counter to lightburn somehow… just a way to know total hours spent actually running all jobs in total up to the present date. Would be useful in troubleshooting any laser issues with the manufacturers. “this laser has a 10000 hr lifespan but i have only ran the laser for 4 hours!” etc… :slight_smile: Im no programmer but seems like it may not be a difficult thing to keep track of how long a job is going for and total of all jobs ever…. anyway thanks for listening :slight_smile:
I just started using with the D1 from Xtool so maybe a way to edit the hrs as well to give an estimated starting point… for example I think I have run my d1 for maybe 2 hrs… so I would want to edit the counter to start from 2 hrs. Might be getting complicated now but also would be nice to have the counter tied to a machine as well… in case Im running 3 different lasers, To keep track of each laser independently. ok again thanks for reading…

1 Like

Agreed. This would be a most valuable feature. You will find this in the Feature Suggestions section, where it should be upvoted.

Here is another request for the same feature
https://forum.lightburnsoftware.com/t/laser-operating-meter/68750?u=peter.s

I believe if you go into Edit/Get Controller Info in LightBurn, there is counters in the RUIDA controller that track this data. Can’t recall for sure what they are called, and don’t have access to a RUIDA machine to see at this time, but there should be something in there.

1 Like

The device itself doesn’t maintain that information and that’s the problem.

You couldn’t apply that logic to vehicular millage…

You could run it for 4k hours with lasergrbl and 10 minutes with Lightburn then use Lightburns ‘run’ times.

You could run your machine with no laser or motors, so only the controller is operating. Lightburn or any other software would have no way of knowing… neither would the controller…