Trial version not compatible with TopWisdom?

Hi there. I am new to the laser world, have purchased a new to me Redsail which I am told runs with a TopWisdom controller. The Auto Laser software it came with drives me nuts so I am currently on a trial version of Lightburn and I love it but I cannot get it to work with the laser. I tried connecting my laptop directly to the laser via USB to manually have it recognize without success. Could this just be because of the trial version?

Going off old memory here, but I seem to remember mine coming with two USB ports. One id the incoming from the computer, and the other is for a thumb drive. They are not interconnected, you have to be in the right port to get PC connection. If you have a regular USB and D port, then never mind. Use the D port.

No. There are no limits to the trial except the time you have to use it.

Check what @Dave01 mentions and let us know how you get on. :slight_smile:

Some lasers come with two USB ports, others come with one ā€˜normalā€™ USB port a a D shaped port. I want to say itā€™s technically called a USB-B, but donā€™t quote me on that.The important fact is that no matter what combination of outside ports you have, they are not interchangeable. One is a dedicated feed from the PC, the other is a dedicated thumb drive port. If you have mixed ports, the ā€˜Dā€™ shaped port is the one to your computer.

Also, check to make sure the other end didnā€™t come loose from the controller, or alternatively plug directly into the correct controller port. The feeds to the side of the cabinet are merely extensions.

Iā€™ve tried both ports one is marked USB INTERFACE CABLE and the other U-DISK. the only other port looks like a phone Jack for Network. I tried both ports while trying to re-add the device. TL403-CB is how the controller is marked. By chance is this one not compatible with Light burn?

From an Aug. '19 post from Oz directly: