Troubleshooting Ruida Networking

Software won’t recognize 55w laser (Ruida) on Mac- Big Sur

Many posts describing this and the solution.

Big Sur changed the FTDI driver

Is there a reason you don’t use the ethernet interface?

I’ve tried both the ethernet and usb connection, and neither are being recognized int he software.

That indicates more of a problem than you are describing.

They use completely different subsystems - if it doesn’t work with either USB or ethernet, you have multiple problems.

I use MacOS, and have found it remarkably stable on ethernet.

If the machine is turned on, can you ping it?

It won’t recognize it at all. I’m using an adapter to connect ethernet to the usb c.

I should also add that I’m a complete newbie and chances are that there’s a pretty simple solution but I just can’t figure it out.

Can you ping any other devices?

Download LanScan - great tool for the Mac, or locate the network utility and leave it in continuous ping mode as you turn the laser on. ‎LanScan on the Mac App Store

Where In The World Is Carmen Sandiego Network Utility?
If Network Utility is no longer in the Utilities folder of the Mac, where is it? Looking at the path to the app, it’s hidden away in:

/System/Library/CoreServices/Applications

There are three much easier ways to find Network Utility and launch it without digging around in hidden folders. The first is to go to the Apple Menu, select About This Mac…, click on “System Report”, and then select Network Utility from the Windows menu. The second is even easier; click the Spotlight search icon (it looks like a magnifying glass) on the right side of the Mac menu bar, then type in “Network Utility” and press the return key.

It’s picking up 51 devices, and I don’t see Ruida for any of them.

So the problem is with your controller.

What is your IP address range, your router address, and the IP address configured in the Ruida?

and 51 addresses! Dude, you’re a networker, fo sho!