150w RECI laser tube output empty circles on the first mirror

Hi there,
It hasn’t engraved right for a week. So i went to realign it. I taped the second mirror, nothing was visible on the tape. So i taped the first mirror, this is what i get.
what do you think the issue is?
Ps: When i first got it, it burned a hole out of the tape and cardboard.
Thank you.

If this is right out of the tube and not hitting a mirror etc then you have a bad tube. Back in the old days of flowing gas lasers I could align the front and rear mirrors in the tube to get the beam mode correct. What you have is a misaligned front and rear optic in the tube and these are not adjustable in sealed gas tubes.
I have seen this many times when I was a Field Engineer when tube optics where bad. or.misaligned.
The front and rear tube mirrors have to be co planar to each other pretty much perfectly to get TEM 00 or the typical round spot. If they are not both perfectly parallel to each other then you get weird beam modes or simpler…wonky laser spots. I see this is right out of the tube and not passing through anything so…tube issue. You might want to take a peak at the output coupler…basically the lens out the tube front and see if you can see anything burnt on the outside but I doubt it. Laser off obviously.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transverse_mode

2 Likes

@shughey, such a great answer I felt compelled to reply in addition to the :heartpulse: and :100: I already marked your post with.

1 Like

Could you explain why it worked great for the first 3 months? It is a RECI. Thank you.

Could you explain why it worked great for the first 3 months? It is a RECI.

Not really……could be a failed mirror which kind of looks like….by that I mean burned. There are multiple things that can cause a failure…defective optics…air bubbles in the tube water cooling jacket that collect at the output mirror can cause them to fail….any unknown manufacturing defect etc.