40 watt neje power in lightburn

Hello, I am a novice to laser engraving. I have learned a lot but just enough to be dangerous. LOL
My question, which I can’t seem to find an answer to in the forum is this.
I have installed the 40 watt Neje laser onto my Ortur 20 watt LM2 because the 20 watt crapped out. Is there a way to make sure lightburn is set up to use the higher power of this laser other than the 0 to 100% setting for each project? It seems I have to use the same settings I did with 20 watt power even though I’m using twice the watts? I have seen posts referring to $120, etc and have no idea what these mean or where to find them in lightburn. Any help would be great!

You’ll likely need an upgraded power supply. You might be capped at 20 watts until you upgrade. Still pretty nOoB myself.

My machine is on a long burn right now, but that is in device settings but you can adjust it from the console. I beleive it’s for the x acceleration.
$120=10.000 (x accel, mm/sec^2)

Hi Willie, I am using the power supply that came with the 40 watt laser which is 4 amps? Do you think I need 6 to run everything?

1 Like

No, then likely not. Let’s see what the experienced folks have to say. What I will say is that the input doesn’t always equal the output. Your design might not be efficient, but just an early morning guess (with no coffee yet) is that you don’t have the beam focused correctly. And on that note, you can replace the stock lens of your laser module (pretty sure) with a G8 lens which will better focus your laser beam. Also, if you don’t have air assist, I’d look into that. Make sure you get a pump that is future proofed. You need something around 1,000 GPH.

I converted my om 2 to neje 30W , installed manual z axis adjustment , Belt tension adjusters, Used power supply that came with laser head 4W , Also kept using ortur power supply to run steppers , gantry ect , plenty of power , run slate coasters at 65% 3000 mm/min
White tiles 80% 1200 mm/min