5.5w Cutting Expectations

Hi All!
I’m just getting started with lasers and I’m trying to set my expectations correctly.
I’ve created a test pattern from 800-2000mm/Min at power settings from 10-100% to test cutting and engraving on different materials. All seem to go well, and I’ve gotten results that are in line with my expectations. I then went to cut out 3mm birch plywood only to find that I couldn’t get through the material. I slowed the cuts down to 60mm a minute, and have had to go to 45 passes to get the material to cut.

Am I missing something? What kinds of speeds should I expect with a 5.5w laser and 3mm plywood?
Also, does anyone have a library of materials that they would be willing to share?
Thanks!

You can increase the power and go slow on speed. Your laser is low power to begin with but no way should you need 45 passes.

All my cut attempts were at 100% power, and I had to drop to the 60mm/min with the high pass number to get the cuts to work. I guess what I was after was just a confirmation that you can do it in 2 or 3 passes at 10mm/min… Is that a reasonable speed for 3mm birch plywood?

Search for “air assist cutting plywood” and you’ll find tips and advice to cut 3mm plywood. I’m not sure 5.5W is enough, however, but you’ll get the straight scoop in those posts.

Thanks for the suggestion TomWS… finding this video on youtube certainly help set my expectations better. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djRRxGXyACY. Hopefully this benefits someone else down the road. Guess I’ll be learning more and then upgrading down the road!