50W Power Supply to MKS DLC32 Wiring

Hello I’m new to electronics and I want to learn how to wire a power supply to a MKS DLC32 controller.

614Ax+OI4vL.AC_SX679

Search for “k40 and MKS DLC32”, there are many guides that explain the wiring, I think. There are also different options you can use. I remembered having seen at least three or four different wiring options. If you search this forum, you might also find some of them.

It’s relatively simple… Beside a common ground between the signals, there are two control pins on the lps…

P isn’t one, but you need to know it’s a protection input from your chiller that is active low. Not active, no lase…

Generally they connect the wiper of the pot to IN, then the PWM to H. When the PWM goes high it will lase at the set current level specified by the IN voltage.

I don’t favor this method, as it drives the tube like it’s a diode or a digital device, but it’s most common.

I prefer and I see more of this wiring … where the tube is driven, like it’s designed, as an analog device.

L being used as laser enable, with a manual switch to ground and the PWM going to the IN terminal.

Note the connector has the PWM on S and the Ground on TTL in the center… it’s a ttl compatible output… There’s no need for the V (supply voltage) pin.

Pick your poison…

DO NOT use minus (-) on the spindle connection for ground, it isn’t. It is switched to ground by a mosfet when the pwm signal goes high.

Good luck

:smile_cat:

2 Likes

Hi jkwilborn, I really appreciate the information. I’ve been searching a while for a wiring guide and I have seen you pop up in multiple discussions and am very thankful to have someone so knowledgeable. Here is what I have ended up with for a wiring diagram from my still very beginner knowledge.

And I’m assuming that FG, AC, AC just hooks up to a three prong power cord?