A question about the minimum power needed to fire the laser

I have a Chinese Cam5 laser with a rudia 644xs controller that originally ran a 130w CO2 laser tube. Due to various reasons my Boss decided to downgrade to a 80W CO2 tube. with the higher tube the laser would fire at a minimum power of 7.5% and above. It now only fires at 25% and above. Is this normal? I get the feeling the laser should be able to fire at lower powers but I am not sure.
I was hired as a printer and had laser cutting thrust upon me as a secondary duty and am entirely self taught. so please explain with as much simple detail as possible.

Yes that’s normal. An 130W tube will probably have a bigger power supply unit than that which would be optimal for a smaller (usually shorter) 80W tube. The trouble with using wattage for tube identification is similar to using speeds for car identification… sellers will talk about high wattages than engineers might as we have 2 values, an “agreed” power and a “peak” power… anyway…

130W tubes are much more expensive than 80W tubes so I guess this is a “cost saving” of some sort? You could find the High Voltage PSU (usually on larger machines this is at the back on the right side either accessible through a side or back door) and is usually a box (often black or blue or silver) about a ft long by half a ft wide with a red cable and a black cable coming out of it and 2 green connectors going into it. Often on the PSU there will be a sticker or similar with some information, such as the voltage of the PSU often as an R value or T value so, R100 or R150 or R80 or T150 or similar. Though sometimes manufacturers or suppliers peel that info off.

Personally I’d just live with it.

Did you change the PSU when you changed the laser?

Did you change any settings on the controller?

1 Like

Yes the PSU was swapped with the laser tube. I did not switch any settings in the controller.