All Script Text has shadows or double burn

I am new to this and struggling with text. All the script text I choose seems to have a shadow or double burn. Jtech 14W with air assist on Millright CNC. Any help appreciated!

Filling in the Scanning Offset Adjustment table with measured offsets will fix that:

Using simple squares with the Line Interval set to 1 mm will simplify the measurements.

Thank you I will try that this afternoon.

99.9% sure this is a X axis belt slack issue
Try this, uncheck Bi Directional engraving
IF the machine stops doing ghosting then is your X axis slack, or belts that are not tight enough

My MillRight has rack and pinion not belts.

If that were the case, we’d also hear about the ends of vector cut circles (as in the one shown in the picture) not lining up. :grin:

As a rule of thumb, nobody starts out knowing about the scanning offset problem, so (in the absence of other evidence) fixing the offset generally resolves the “shadow or double burn” issue.

Fair point, from my experience, though, this issue is caused by something else
You can mask it or fix it

I guess both approaches reach the same end goal.
With both “tool sets” is dealers choice on what to do :slight_smile:

Aditionally if you notice, there is in fact an issue on the X curves.

Definitely better to fix the mechanical problems, although nobody believes they exist.

Good catch!

However, that error is much smaller than the offset, so doing the mechanical tuneup dance will be next.

2mm worth, usually a full belt tooth :slight_smile:

Trying to work on this a little but not exactly sure what I am looking for.
Top box at 100mm/s
Bottom box at 200mm/s

I did go play with the scan offset entry for 100 and 200 and set the line shift for .6mm for 100mm/s and .7mm for 200mm/s just to see what I was doing to the output and it did make a major improvement in the ghosting issue.
Not sure what to measure on the two test box lines.

Again thanks for your help this is very new to me!