An introduction and a small query/question

Good morning, afternoon, evening depending on where you all are, here it is nearly midnight and after many hours playing with my new toy i am slowly starting to get it working somewhat correctly.

Wanted to try out CNC/Laser engraving but finances wont stretch to a proper/decent machine so have started off with one of the chinese 3018 type. i have seen many videos about these and everyone seems to start spending money on upgrades the minute it arrives so i purchased what i believe is a better model, all alum construction, no 3d printed parts, 300watt motor, 30 watt diode laser (yes i know thats the chinese rated input power) 16mm guide rails, 6 limit switches, proper power supply not the brick type.

i am a complete beginner to this but am capable of walking and talking at the same time so not a complete idiot. I think i have managed to sort out the user,absolute, origin, homing, offset thingy settings and the machine seems to return to a safe position when i click HOME but after a bit of code completes the machine was moving passed the home point and crashed into the limit switches.

6 hours yesterday trying to figure out why this happens and then i found the RETURN TO FINISH POSITION button and the figures did not match the home position. Another 6 hours today trying to resolve why the machine does not home on power up, have double checked the device settings (the bit you go through when you first setup/connect) and the AUTO HOME YOUR LASER ON STARTUP is checked/switched on.

so after a lot of waffle my question is …is this

(1) a chinese 3018 problem
(2) an ID 10 T problem ie ME or
(3) a lightburn setting that i have not yet found.