Are Student Licenses a thing with Lightburn?

Hi, I tried searching but couldn’t find anything relevant. Sorry if I missed it.
I’m studying my Master in Design and because of covid the access to the university’s machines are very limited. So now I’ve just bought my own laser cutter to use at home so I can get stuff done.

I’ve just started my trial period of LB, haven’t got it all to work just yet but working on it. It would be a bit above my budget getting a DSP license though, since I have a Trocen controller in my machine. Especially now since all my savings went into getting a machine.

So to my question, (finally)
Is there some kind of a student license I can apply for? Or if it’s possible to get some kind of discount? I can provide credentials that I am in fact a student, if necessary. I hate to come off as a cheapskate but paying 70€ right now feels a bit unrealistic.

Thx
V

Hi Vic,
may I ask what you have given for your new laser machine?

When I was in the planning stages of buying my laser, I did my due diligence and looked into what software I would be using and included that into my budget.
I just can’t imagine doing it any other way.
You have 30 days of free use, then just cough up the money.

Way more than I should’ve. All the savings from my summer job + a good bit above the monthly budget. I know what you’re getting at, the cost of the software is a small sum compared to that, but it still hurts.

You’re right, however I really did not plan for this to escalate like this… Was going for a K40 at first but since they’re crap without a lot of work and time and I’m stressed about a project + I got a good deal on another machine.
Anyway, it’s a common thing that software developers have student licenses for free or at a lower price. This ensures that they will continue to use their software in future work. So is it really that strange that I’m asking?

The Lightburn team is obviously who has the one and only true answer. :slight_smile: