Auto join not working, at a loss

Hello, Sorry for what seems like a repeat post, but i have read through countless others and I either cant see the wood for the trees or im just lost.

i have an arrow head image that will not auto join, weld or the likes together, I have grouped and ungrouped, zoomed in and matched lines over the top of each other, converted to path and selected auto join numerous times.

I’m still learning with the software and was used to RD Works where there was a button to join nodes, im surprised light burn doesn’t have this feature?

I have drew on the breaks with a red line to show where it isn’t joining, and also shown the direction the lines are moving, if this helps

Many thanks

1 Like

In the node edit mode you have selected, if you know where the break points are located, drag one of them away, then back again to snap. This will join those two points. You can test it by grabbing the alleged joined node and moving. If both line segments move, it’s joined. You can then return it to the original location with precision by using Undo / Control-z

I’ve run into peculiar conditions in which I was unable to perform a joining in the described manner. I would later discover that I had overlapping lines or in one case, two nodes, one atop the other. Grouping isn’t a factor in this case, as best as I can tell, but it’s also a consideration.

If you care to attach your file, I’d be happy to examine it.

Hello fred,

i tried what you said but still no luck, i have isolated the file so its just the broken part in question if you can help and explain where i went wrong i would very much appreciate it.Faulty arrow.lbrn (13.4 KB)

1 Like

I have run into this before also in LB and other graphic design programs. Here’s a quick work around…

• Group your image
  • Select the “Offset Shapes” icon (ALT+O or in the TOOLS Menu or Icon located on left side menu)