[BEGINNER] Settings for 10-11W Diode collection

Hi there,
I used the search function and Google to find a helpful first setting for basic materials like balsawood (in my case 4mm) but found nothing.
I found a site with a “BasicPowerScale Tool for LightBurn” but sadly there was not mentioned that it is for CO2 Lasers. I was really wondering (as a complete beginner in laser) why the creator marked it with mm/s as LB recommend mm/min with diode laser.
Then I made the first burn test and noticed that even with same value in mm/min the results was not as promised. So I recreated the PowerScale and Engraving and made new testfiles.
As soon I have tested them I will add them here for all who want something usable for their 10W diodes :wink:
Maybe I will modify it for all 5W modules as well then if there is enough interest.
Greetings, Phil

P.S.: If you already have some data for standard materials like leather, jeans cotton, acrylic, paper, black annodized aluminium and so on please post it here so we can make a nice collection of working values. Thanks!

1 Like

The reason it’s not really there is that it varies from machine to machine and along with material.

The best way is to read about how people have done similar material and test it to find the best power/speed for you machine/setup. It takes time. Lightburn has a ‘material’ library that is very useful.

It shouldn’t matter, but is there for the convenience of the user. Co2 machines inherently run faster, so to keep the numbers smaller they use mm/s.

Many led lasers do not have control boards that can do all the functions that the ‘power scale’ uses. Pretty much designed for DSP controllers.

Who promised you what?

The techniques used to make that power test are advanced Lightburn traits. I still don’t understand them. It just makes me curious that you could create the same kind of test. Seems to me the grbl controller cannot do all the things the power test does…