Burned images are to dark

just received my ortur 20 watt fixed laser and im having a interesting time getting settings on lightburn to work. i import the image, set it to jarvis or dither, and then when i hit the preview button, the image is super dark, and when i etch it on the 54x89x3mm wood pieces that came with the laser, its super dark as well. I just want it to look like what the actual image in light burn looks like. here are some images of what i mean

you can see how on the burn table, it looks like the way i want it, but in the preview, its way to dark. below are my settings as well as my actual goal image

my actual test piece

I’m not an expert, but Diode lasers won’t produce any image at 300 DPI. Way too high.
Then, there are a whole slew of tweaks you can do with Gamma, Contrast, Brightness, etc if you do a little research on engraving images with LightBurn.

the image above, was done with a diode laser. same one as mine. Just trying to get it the same as this persons:)

I’m having this exact same problem. I haven’t been able to find any technical information about how to fix this just yet, but if I do I will keep You posted on the progress.
My burns were coming out perfect just as the image I intended and then I’m not sure what changed, but then started coming out in preview as overly dark and burn results as the same, just as You appear to be getting.
I’m new to laser burning so the technical adjustments needed to change this haven’t been found yet!
Anyways if I succeed I’ll let you know!
Good luck with Yours!

1 Like

Are you really moving at 6000mm/min? I doubt a diode laser will actually make an accurate dot at those speeds. I suspect that by the time the laser turns on for each dot at that speed it has already moved so it is like smearing the image.

If it was a typo, and you meant 600mm/min, then double that. On my 5.5W laser I burn images in cork at 1500mm/sec 30% power for cork and 1200mm/min 50% power for wood.