Burning Between objects

Hello, I’m very new to Lightburn so please treat me gently, I hope this is the correct place to ask such a question!

I am using Lightburn on a home build machine which I intend to have Router, Plasma and Laser heads for eventually…Lightburn appears to have a fairly easy to follow UI so I am attempting to use it…initially just to generate GCODE if nothing else.

First up is PLASMA…and I have the problem that appears to be well documented here in that the ‘cutter’ function doesn’t turn off between objects…This simply requires Lightburn to recognise the jump to another object and turn the plasma/laser off before it moves (and back on again after the move). Lightburn is currently not creating NO GCODE to do this.

I have seen many references to:

and to type $32=1 into the console window as the ‘solution’, but this apparently turns on variable power…which obviously is not a function relevant to most Plasma cutters…and also doesn’t have the desired effect on the GCODE.

Is it possible to get Lightburn to add spindle on and off commands (M3 and M5 respectively) into the GCODE between objects? I have set up Custom GCODE for TOOL ON and TOOLOFF, but Lightburn does not add these between objects, only adding them at the start and end of the full sequence.

Finally, a number of the references here that I have read talk about typing $32=1 into the console window to turn on LASER mode. That’s rather cludgy, can’t this be done as an option in a settings window? In fact I have seen a reference to being able to do this in ‘Machine Settings’ yet I cannot find a Machine Settings option. Device Setting and General Lightburn Settings: Yes, but Machine Settings: No! Where is this menu please? Additionally, does the $32=1 command have to be typed in every time your turn the machine on or is it recorded for posterity?

Many thanks

1 Like

I would look at this thread.
GRBL Plasma cutter programing help - LightBurn Hardware Compatibility - LightBurn Software Forum