Can I vary depth of focus on each of several passes so I can etch without charring?

Hi all,
I am a newbie (in spades)!

What I want to do is etch (not char) a title into book cloth to title a book I am binding. So my question is pretty straightforward.

Is there a way to perform multiple passes over the same path (with fill in) at slightly different levels (we are talking about 0.05 mm difference on each pass) so I can etch into book cloth that has a lighter layer underneath the top layer so I can expose the lighter color and do this without charring (I am getting a handle on power and speed(i.e. charring potential) of the laser. [The concept is about like the photographic exposure triangle: film speed <-> shutter speed ].

Thank you! I had forgotten about this panel. My panels keep disappearing and I’m going how to figure out how to keep them all open in tabs.

Thanks again

The window I show above is the ‘Cut Settings Editor’ window not intended to be docked as you are thinking. It is an ‘expanded view’ panel for the Cut Settings - Quick View section of the ‘Cuts / Layers’ window, tabbed in the image below:

The ‘Cut Settings Editor’ window is exposed by double-click of the layer in the ‘Cuts / Layers’ window. They are tied together as mentioned, one is the expanded view panel of the other.

In general, the window layout can be rearranged to a design you like.

This video is a bit dated, created by one of our members using a very old version, but the concepts are the same. :slight_smile:

If you want to reset, back to the default layout, select ‘Window’→’Reset to Default Layout’. You can also hold Shift while you launch LightBurn to reset the window layout. LightBurn Tips - LightBurn Software Documentation

Thanks for setting me straight. It’s always the little things that trip up newbies.

As you seem knowledgable let me ask one more question.

If I am going to etch into an item of known thickness is it safe to accept that: