Centering the image in the middle of the object

Good day,

I have a cork lid in the middle of which I need to engrave the object. When I put the lid under the laser, the object is never engraved in the middle. Please, how to achieve this? I am a beginner

Thank you

ZONEWAY ZW33-20W

One option is to place a piece of wood on your bed and cut out the circle that your cork item has. If you have two edges that can be used to place your new template on, you can use it again and again. You need to save a template file to your new template so you can easily place your items in the cutout and center your design with LightBurn.

Hi Eva, could you use my suggestion?

Here’s another little example. I had to test some leather and used this small and simple “template” to be able to engrave front and back.

In LightBurn, you have the outer line (cut out) as a reference to easily center all desired designs.

Scale it all up to your purpose and you have an easy quick fix.
For the production purpose, however, I will use a regular template with fix points for the X and Y axis on the machine bed frame itself.

Thank you so much. You are the best :slight_smile: This is good idea and I tried it. It went well, thanks a lot.
Can I have one more question?
when I engrave a picture through a bitmap, it goes very slowly. When I do it via image tracing, it goes fast, but I don’t fill up some of the areas which I need. What should I do?
thank you

It depends a lot on the image itself. Is it possible to trace it so that it becomes a sketch / graphic, it will be preferable and it is, as you have also noticed, somewhat faster. Very briefly and not very precisely, it is the two different modes of producing the image itself that make up the time difference. What you describe, with the missing parts of your traced image, is not possible for me to judge without having seen it. You can upload the file here or, if it is more private, send it to me as PM. (click on my avatar and the menu will pop up)