Chinese TC-410 controller replacement

Hey guys, I’m new to laser engraving, I’ve learned everything I know over the course of two weeks so bear with me if this doesn’t make sense.

My company just bought a Chinese laser that has the TC-410 controller in it. I’ve been reading up on these and the general consensus is that they are weak. So I am hoping to replace it with something I can use with LightBurn. The supported software it came with is AutoLaser. After lurking around, I found that this controller is not yet supported by LightBurn. So my question is. What is the best controller card replacement for this machine? What are the easiest to learn to use? I have a feeling I have been spoiled but starting out on a Full Spectrum ProLf.

Thanks in advance for suggestions.

The easiest way would be to replkace it with another DSP controller like the Ruida 6442G. LightBurn works very well with this controller.

Neat, I was just looking at those. Is there an easy way to swap the controller and get it running without doing too much troubleshooting? Or is it a learn and fix as you go type deal?

Follow up questions.

Will the 6442G controller work well with a 130W tube? I’m also wondering what suppliers are used for high quality laser tubes?

Most of the connections are the same. I would take lots of pictures of the original setup and make sure you have all the controller settings written down so they can be entered into the Ruida controller. It does not matter what wattage tube you have, the signal output is controlling the power supply, so a 10W is the same setup as a 130W. Hope this helps.

It does! Thank you so much for your input!

1 Like

The motor and laser connections are usually very straightforward, the limit switch wiring can be a little fussy, but isn’t bad. The hardest part is generally transferring over the settings, and getting things like the homing directions, limit settings, step sizes, and speed tuning right - that takes a bit of back and forth.