Circle trouble - beginning and end are offset

Hello,

I read lots of posts regarding Circles not round and do not meet but couldn’t see the same issue I experience.

I am new to laser cutting and just assembled a Sculpfun S30 Pro (10W) with Y axis extension. When engraving / cutting the first test pattern, the cut circles are oval and there are strange lines off the circles (and rectangles too).

I run some additional tests just on the cutting after adjusting the Y axis belt, but it made no difference.

I then used LaserGRBL to make the same cuts. This eliminated the offsets, but the X axis is still too short.

Any ideas how I can fix the offsets in Lightburn and how I get a round circle?
Regards, Peter

Possibly looks like your wheels are overtensionsed. Check for binding by manually moving laser head in both X and Y directions. Do you feel excess resistance? Adjust eccentric nuts on the wheel axes to relieve tension in that case.

You may also be dealing with a loose pinion gear likely on the Y axis. Make sure the grub screws are well secured against the flat of the stepper shaft.

Thank you for your reply. When doing the first sample, the X and Y axis had been overtensionsed. I then came across a video showing how the tension is correct by having the laser head move on its own by tilting the laser cutter around 30 degrees in both axes. Tilt Test on middle of page

I also adjusted the eccentric nuts on the wheel axes in oder to make the print head move on its own when tilting the laser cutter.

In addition, I checked all the grub screws, and they are all well secured. Unfortunately, none of this made a difference. Regards, Peter

The issue is almost certainly mechanical. So look for anything along the mechanical chain where backlash could be introduced.