CNC shield and Arduino. everything installed but nothing good happens

Hello again to all of you who are so good at helping!

Already saying thank you!

Have now become a little warmer in the clothes and will start building CNC/Laser cutter no:2.
This time I want to use CNC shield and Arduino.

Have set the stepper motor sensors correctly according to the stepper motors I have.

I have followed all the steps and got as far as getting the CNC Shield up in LightBurn, showing my settings and the console’s $$ numbers.

But when I then, for example, I press the toggle “move x+” the motor just shakes a little, I’m trying to post a video of the process.

I’m not that good at coding and don’t know where to start troubleshooting!?

Do you have any ideas, maybe cod I can drop into the console to make it work!?

Thank you so much for your thoughts and ideas!

Best regards, Petter

well, you’ve got an unusual grbl setting for $30.
Please change that to 1000 so it matches S-value max in device settings.

you can enter that directly in the console window:
$30=1000
then press enter.
you can repeat the $$ report to confirm the setting change.

When you say, stepper motor sensors are these ‘feedback motors’ or are these limit switches / end stop switches?

Which stepper motors and driver chips have you selected for your build?

DRV8825 and HANPOSE 17HS6401S-PG Nema 17

I tried the change at position 30, but no big difference
and in the picture you see the small screw you set V ??

Looking up your stepper motors it looks like they’re rated for 1.7A If I recall correctly it’s 2x Vref for drv8825. I’d probably try for .85V but you should look it up to verify rather than take my word. :slight_smile:

that is correct, its sett to 0.85

Vref setting for stepper current. great - no issues there.

Change the units in LightBurn to mm/minute (instead of mm/s)

Please capture the Move window contents. I’m wondering if the units are responsible for an over-speed request. :slight_smile: