Co2 laser slow cutting (low power)

Hi all - I’m new to CO2 lasers but have used a diode laser for a while so have some experience to draw upon.
I’ve bought a 2nd hand laser 80W Red Black which I saw cutting before buying.
I was told it was 3 years old and had occasional use by a hobbyist.
At home I have cleaned the mirrors and realigned them. Mirrors may not be perfect as they seem to have marks on them which look like stains in the area where the laser hits them.
Air works. Water works.
When test fire the laser produces a good (IMO) small dot on the piece.
Here’s the problem
laser1

Cutting 3mm ply very slow and using more power than I think i need to use and 2 passes

is there any advice out there regarding what sort of troubleshooting I can do to unravel where the issue is?

Hoping you can help me get into this fascinating hobby / business. :crossed_fingers:

Rich

I cut 3mm at 20mm/s@75% on my 50 watt, single pass. You should not have a problem.

In the Ruida, there is a ‘start speed’ at or below, you will only get ‘minimum power’? 5mm/s is usually below the set start speed… mine was 20mm/s, I lowered it to 5. Even that would give you minimum power…

What is the minimum power of your layer set?

1. tube working correctly
  2. optics to the lens, aligned and clean
  3. proper focus

If these condition are met, it would be working, which of these are you missing?

There’s probably no doubt that this is not right. Unfortunately I can’t tell what you mean by ‘stains’… if you can see an aberration on the mirror, you should change it out. The best option is a wattmeter, you can evaluate how much loss is occurring.

:smile_cat:

Thanks Jack - I’ve found start speed. Its actually set via Lightburn Edit menu rather than the options on the Controller itself so it took a bit of finding. I’ve set min speed to 5mm/s.
I’ve also checked the alignment for mirror 3 (to lens) and this is fine using change in z axis to measure. Laser dot appears in same place every time.