Corel Draw to LightBurn Macro Issue: Project Not Found (LBExport.ai)

Hello! I work in IT for a school district and our Tech. Education instructor uses CorelDraw to allow his students to import images, layer them, and eventually send them over to his laser cutter. I’m trying to get him set up so that the students can create their projects in CorelDraw, then hit a button to run a macro that brings their projects from CorelDraw to LightBurn. I followed instructions about getting the macro set up in CorelDraw and it worked almost flawlessly. You click the button, it launches LightBurn, and it attempts to import the project file from CorelDraw into LightBurn. However, it’s running into a problem in that final step. Whenever it launches LightBurn it gives an error saying “Project not found - LightBurn 0.9.09. The file ‘C:\LBExport.ai’ could not be found”.

I’m not super familiar with any laser cutting software or how this macro works but I think I can see where this error is coming up. My theory is that when making the transition between CD and LB it tries to make a temporary export file called LBExport.ai that LB can pull from when it opens. Maybe due to a permission or pathing error it can’t write or read the Export file? Is that something that would make sense for this software? Am I understanding how it works properly?

I believe it could also be occurring because of how our file systems are set up in the school. I’ve seen other users on here with a similar issue saying that the path it was looking for was C:\Users\TheirName.… which isn’t the same error we’re getting here. This would be strange because the users here still get a User folder created for them so it would seem like nothing should be different.