Cut vs Fill vs Layers vs Offsets, what will actually fill then cut?

Yes, I’m a newbie and yes, I’ve been looking through the questions asked/answered but I’m not finding what should be a simple answer. I’ve got an image that I need to “fill” areas in which works just fine. The issue is, I also need to “cut” it out of the sheet. Apparently there’s no direct method to allow filling then cutting. Yes, I saw the sub-layer assignment in the cuts/layers area and truly I hope that’s the solution but documentation that I can find, doesn’t say its for this purpose.
Yes, I saw something about using offsets and assigning to a different layer but there’s nothing in the editor that allows one to see the separate “layers” by themselves. I’m thinking…lol, it would be nice to view the layers individually and/or piece them together/apart for the visual representation of the user. Not sure if that makes sense or not but I’m picturing in my head, the bottom layer on the screen and adding the next higher layer, one at a time till you see the entire project as one. If that were possible, you could then edit one layer at a time.
Again, sorry, still very much a newbie here.

Sublayers can solve for this specific purpose but it’s not the exclusive purpose. Sublayers exist to allow for multiple distinct layer operations on the same given vector geometry. As an example, let’s say you had a vector square, you could have one sublayer defined as a Fill and another defined as a Line and that would allow for both operations on the same square. However, sublayers are very flexible and can be used for whatever purpose you like. Previously, LightBurn had a special-cased layer operation called “Fill+Line” which automatically did both operations. Sublayers supplanted that with a more generalized and more flexible solution.