Cutting 3mm plywood

LE-4040 20w. I have the laser focused at 30mm. I am trying to cut out a very intricate design and am having some problems. On the very small parts it is burning more area than I would like. I am wondering recommended settings. Is it better to run lower power and more passes? Is 3mm too thick for my laser? What mm/m should I be running? Newbie here so any advice is appreciated.

I have found burning occurs when there is too much power in one location for too long a time so yes, I think either lower the power and more passes OR keel the power the same and speed up the cut.

The pattern looks great though.

I have no experience with your particular laser so can’t comment further.

Good luck

Gary

1 Like

Looks like at least part of the problem is you’re not fully focused. The beam on a diode is square and you can see that show up in some of the shapes on the top picture where the line goes from wide to extremely fine.

I’d start with getting your focus more dialed in.

1 Like

I used the included positioning block to set the height to 30mm. Do you have a better method to fully focus the laser head? It is a fixed focus head so I am only able to focus it by adjusting the height. I also wondered about the laser head being perfectly square with the working surface. Do you have any tips for achieving that? Thanks for that info. I was also wondering why some lines appear extremely fine and some looked bad.

Hi Alex, is there more in focus on one side of the bed, or front to back…if there is and that happens each time, perhaps the relationship between your laser head and the bed (consequently material) is changing causing the focal point being great in some places and not in others.
Can you move the head to all four corners and half points, including center and measure the distance, head to bed.

If they are all the same within some reasonable degree of accuracy, cool. If not, make some adjustments. I don’t know your machine so can’t help.