CUTTING & ENGRAVING SPEED

Good day,

I’m new to the Laser Cut & Engrave business and as I went through various U-Tube videos it seems that I’m missing something regarding cut & engrave speed. I’m using the Atomstack X7 40W Laser and according to about all the suggestions & videos all the people are cutting at speeds more than 300mm/s and engraving up to 1500mm/s and ever more. I’ve tried numerous speed settings without any success. I’ve tried to cut through 9mm MDF Supawood but couldn’t even cut half way through at about 30 passes.

Currently I only work on 3mm MDF Supawood and the only setting that is suitable to cut through is at 3.5mm/s and 90% Energy. I also need to do 4 passes to cut through. Needless to say but to do a gift box of 80mm x 40mm x 30mm took me about 2 and a half hours to complete. The only setting for engraving is at 80mm/s and the Energy between 80% & 100%. It also takes me hours to complete a small task. In all cases, my laser is focused on the plastic glass supplied by Atomstack.

I’m not quite sure where I’m doing wrong but it seems to me that there is certain settings in Lightburn itself that is most probably not correct.

I will appreciate it if you can help me in this regard.

The only difference between an engraving and a cut is one is deeper than the other.

Few of the Chinese co2 lasers will do 1500mm/s. Are you sure it’s not 1500mm/minute?

I have a 40W Neje, but haven’t tried to cut anything… I do that on the co2. I need to do that on the Neje so I can be more helpful here…

Ensure it’s properly focused, might try a ramp test to ensure your focus point.

There are a number of people here that can advise you of starting or expected speeds/power, but each machine is different as is each type or batch of material…

Good luck

:smile_cat: