Cutting part longer than my bed size

I have been trying to cut a piece of material longer than my bed size without success. I am fairly new to laser cutting but I am successfully cutting many parts that fit on my cutting bed. I am running Lightburn Version 9.24 on a Windows 10 machine. My laser cutter is a Boss Laser LS-2440 150 Watt with a Ruida 644xs Controller. I have watched the youtube video that cuts the mermaid no less than 8 times trying to find any details that I have missed.

I am trying to cut a part that is basically 72 by 1.25 inches.
I have logically created 2 parts with the following steps:

1. I loaded my original part.
  2. Created a box on the same layer as my part and it is around my part and the size of the box is 72.44 by 1.88 inches so it surrounds my part completely.
  3. I grouped my part and the box around it together.
  4. Next I created two boxes on a different layer that are 36.22 by 1.88 size. Half the size of the original box
  5. I over laid these two boxes on top of the box that is around my part. I snapped them in the corners.
  6. The finished view is these two smaller boxes completely cover the larger box around my part.
  7. I created a circle that is .275 inches, put a vertical and horizontal line in the circle and grouped them together. I then put the circle on another new layer. I then copied the circle so now I have 2 circles
  8. I moved both circles to the middle of my part where the two smaller boxes join together and snapped them to the smaller boxes accordingly. I did move them in about a 1.4 of an inch from the edge so they would cut on the material. I set the cutter so it would only engrave these circles for reference.
  9. Next I selected one of the smaller over laid boxes and selected my actual cut part and then went to cut shapes and the smaller box dis-appeared. I then went to the other smaller box and repeated this process. It also dis-appeared.