Dark areas in photo are not engraving

I am fairly new to laser engraving and just starting with the Lightburn software. So far I really like it. I am using the Snapmaker A350 and I have been trying to burn an image but the areas that are nearly black are not engraving at all. I have been searching but I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong. Any suggestions?

Thanks

Dithering means that the software emits either zero power, or the power level you choose (40% in your case), but there’s no in between, so this makes no sense. What does it look like if you engrave a simple gradient with the same settings? Like this image:

HorizontalGradient

Hey Oz; I’m having same issue. Gradients work better for me in Greyscale but not Dithering; Stucki; or Jarvis.

It appears to me that anything 255 black is being converted to white in the burn.

I’m running a gradient calibration (DPI v Power) right now for Greyscale mode but can test Dithering in a bit.

This is the gradient with a 255 black border in Greyscale which also seems to “omit” pure blacks as well as you can see on the left.

I thought initially it was inverting images; but concluded snapmaker is omitting 255 blacks

This is with “Jarvis” … I tried both a negative and positive to figure out if it was “inverting”
131991498_10164723184990220_7927040505625247610_n 132032305_10164723185120220_4879634025255874293_n

Had to split post (new user and 4 photo limit).

And finally here is the same image with Greyscale (notice the white highlight in her hair) as well as a the original photo with 255 Blacks (Shadow Clipping turned on) highlighted in blue… which matches with the omitted burn.

My current work around is to add use “curves” filter to limit blacks to 245 for “greyscale” mode; but “dither” seems to omit much lower than 245 in the algorithm.

Really odd stuff…

My grayscale was printing fine. I also noticed that Lightburn (and Luban from Snapmaker) ignore the blurred edge leading into the picture.