Delayed engraving on new Fiber laser

I have no idea if there is something wrong with my new Galvo laser or if it’s a software issue. I am just learning it (though I am very familiar with Lightburn) but lets say I am etching a square onto an aluminum business card, the laser will (sometimes) run 3-6 seconds before it actually starts engraving, if I have more than 1 pass set up it then will go over the are that did not get engraved on the first pass.

As an example I just set up a 30mm square and it did it’s delay and I measured the square that actually got etched and it was 30mm x 27mm so it missed 3mm of the first part, I can see it moving it’s just like it’s got no power for the first few seconds and it does not seem to always do this though, but it does it like 70% of the time.

Software or hardware?

Which laser do you have and what kind of computer are you running LightBurn on?

Which setup instructions have you attempted so far?

The laser is a 30w fiber from Haotian laser (25 year old laser manufacture in China, came highly recommended) I am using on Mac I followed setup procedure from Lightburn YouTube channel (was pretty easy to set up). I have also been watching a lot of Laser Everything. The board is an authentic JPT

It’s a Mac Mini if that matters

If you have access to a windows machine I have found it is best for me to see if it will work in Ezcad. If so then I would lean toward a software issue with Lightburn. I purchase my laser also from Haotian Laser. I did import the setting they provided with ezczd in to Lightburn and everything worked as expected. If you need help from Haotian they have a employee named Mark Zhang that has been very helpful for any questions I have had.

1 Like